Back to media

Port Welcomes New Board Members in Watershed Year

10 June 2010

Port Welcomes New Board Members in Watershed Year

At a critical time in its history when the Port of Dover is pursuing an ambitious restructuring programme and working to secure plans for long-term development, it is essential that the Board at Dover Harbour Board (DHB) has the breadth and depth of expertise to make the crucial decisions.

As such, two new members have recently been appointed to restore the Board to its full complement following the retirement of its former Chairman and one of its Board members.  DHB is delighted that Jeffrey Hume and Chris Green have taken up the non-executive posts.

Jeffrey brings a wealth of financial acumen having been finance director at a number of companies including TDG (a European logistics business), AWG, Alfred McAlpine and Howden Group as well as holding several key finance positions within Hawker Siddeley Group.  His non-executive roles currently include directorships at Heath Lambert Group and Hyder Consulting.  Jeffrey is also a member of the London Stock Exchange Primary Markets Group which represents market makers, city professionals and listed companies.

Chris joins following a prominent career in the transport industry, having held numerous senior positions within the railway sector – nationalised and private.  Such posts include Chief Executive of Virgin Trains, Managing Director of ScotRail during its preparations for privatisation and Managing Director of InterCity.  Chris has also been a Board member of ATOC (Association of Train Operating Companies), Non-Executive Director of Eurotunnel, an advisor to the House of Commons Transport Select Committee and is currently a Non-Executive Director of Network Rail.

DHB Chairman, Roger Mountford, said, “Jeffrey and Chris bring an excellent combination of skills and experience which will be invaluable in supporting the Board through an exciting if challenging period of change.”

Issued by Corporate Communications on 01304 240400 (ext 4410 from 8.30 – 17.00)

Note to Editors:

Jeffrey Hume was appointed by the Secretary of State for Transport.  Chris Green was appointed by the Board of DHB.