/ Press Release

HOME >> >> Press Releases >> Workshop Agrees Route to First Community Director


Harbour House
Marine Parade
CT17 9BU
  Tel: +44 (0) 1304 240 400

For all lost property enquires, please contact:

  Tel: +44 (0) 1304 245 392
  Email: property.office@doverport.co.uk



For all media enquiries, please contact the Corporate Affairs team:

  TEL: +44 (0) 1304 240 400 Ext. 4410
  E-mail: communications@doverport.co.uk





The Port of Dover Police can be contacted 24 hours a day and 365 days of the year, please contact:

Port of Dover Police
Floor 4. Terminal Control Building,
Eastern Docks,
Dover, Kent,
CT16 1JA

  TEL: +44 (0) 1304 216 084
  FAX: +44 (0) 1304 241 956
  E-mail: police@doverport.co.uk

30th June 2014 - Press Release

Workshop Agrees Route to First Community Director

On Friday 27 June representatives of the Dover Harbour Board Nomination Committee met with elected representatives of the community and the independently chaired Port and Community Forum and Port Users' Group to debate the process for appointing the very first Community member of Dover Harbour Board (DHB).

The wide ranging workshop discussed a draft person specification, criteria for eligibility and the timetable for appointment with all parties confirming their desire to establish a process that was transparent, open and accountable.

In order to continue the momentum and positive engagement that has been evident in improved relationships between DHB and local community groups, it was agreed that the recruitment process would commence in the summer with the aim of securing an appointment in the late autumn of 2014.

George Jenkins OBE, Chairman of Dover Harbour Board said “It was a privilege to host a group of people who were willing to work together towards finding a consensus approach to securing this key appointment. I was delighted with the healthy nature of the conversation and it is clear to me that all present wished to see a positive outcome for both the port and the town of Dover.”

Commenting on the workshop, Charlie Elphicke, MP for Dover and Deal, from whose constituency the selected candidate will be drawn said “It's great to see a shared desire from the Harbour Board and the community to build a stronger partnership to take the town forward. I am delighted we are making progress. The developments over the coming months should take us a further step to bring the port, port businesses and the people together in the shared venture of changing Dover. The deeper partnership, the investment with development of the port and the new jobs it can create could really transform things.”


Issued by Port of Dover Corporate Affairs on 01304 240400 (ext 4410 from 8.30 – 17.00)

Note to Editors

Full list of Workshop attendees:

Charlie Elphicke, Member of Parliament for Dover and Deal

Peter Jones, CBE, Chairman, South East Local Enterprise Partnership (SELEP)

Councillor Sue Jones, Deputy Mayor of Dover

Derek Leach, Chairman, Port & Community Forum

James Ryeland, Chairman, Port Users’ Group

Councillor Paul Watkins, Leader, Dover District Council

George Jenkins OBE, Chairman, Dover Harbour Board

Jeff Hume, Deputy Chairman, Dover Harbour Board

Erik Østergaard, Member, Dover Harbour Board

Tim Waggott, Chief Executive, Dover Harbour Board

Representative of Department for Transport – as Observer only

Related photos

Home | Ferry | Cruise | Marina | Commercial | Cargo | Consultancy | About Us | Privacy Policy
Port of Dover, Harbour House, Marine Parade, Dover, Kent, CT17 9BU
Tel: +44 (0) 1304 240400 Fax: +44 (0) 1304 240465
Site maintained by Montrose Media